tea banner

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

all this resinous, unretractable earth

"The majority of the Maya were farmers. They lived in simple thatched houses surrounded by forest gardens. They ate tortillas, beans, tomatoes, peppers and other vegetables. The rich had a more elaborate diet of turkey, fish and game meat, and a chocolate drink made of cocoa and chile. Most Maya wore simple cotton clothes and occasionally sandals. The rulers and merchants wore jewelry and feathered headbands. "

HISTORY OF BELIZE

Today I am having fantasies of selling all my electronics and small appliances and moving into a thatched hut with a little forest garden where I will grow chiles and make my own tortillas and wear soft cotton clothing and occasionally sandals.

I will bathe in the nearby river and write poetry and read all the great literary works with a mug full of hot cocoa and chile powder. I will paint dancing mud paintings with blessed bare feet on boards on the ground that rust and decay in the rain until I frame them up and send them off to New York.

I woke up with a smile on my face. Little heart heard what he whispered to her yesterday and decided to believe it. She's sending off little flames in the direction of the heavens and in the direction of you and to everyone she loves.

1:28 p.m. - 2005-11-01
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ohophelia
i-am-jack
opiateslopes
mcearstix
snow666white
oladybug0
chaosorder
whitehelmet
asfastasican
pojken
hermex
katherinhand
moodswing
smartypants
moodswing
sundaygirl
starzero
msjessica

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from cecilialooks tagged with ceciliaruns. Make your own badge here.